I’m a picture taking addict

Seriously, since my daughter was born back in May of 2011, I have taken so many pictures.  It’s out of control.  I also seem to hoard them on my phone to the point where I run out of memory (first world problems, eh?)

But can you blame me???

IMG_8497

IMG_8638

So what do you do with a bajillion pictures?  I’m not completely sure.  At this point I’ve at least printed out a couple and hung them up around the house.  I think it’ll be neat for her to see them when she’s older.  In the meantime though, what to do…scrapbooking?  overfilling back up drives?

It’s neat to look back at her transformations over the last two years.

20130529-150233.jpg

I know it’s super cliche, but time really does go so fast.  And now she has a little brother on the way (due this January).  So crazy.

I guess I’m just in a reminiscing sort of mood this evening.  Having my daughter has definitely changed my entire world.  I never pictured myself as a stay at home mom.  I was pretty darn career driven up until her birth.  I got my Master’s degree by the time I was 25.  I shot straight through school and worked at the same time.  I walked away from my full time job after she was born, and, once this second one comes along, I’m also leaving my private counseling practice.  Honestly, I couldn’t be more grateful that I have the option to do this.  Sure it makes money tighter, but the time I’ve been honored to have raising this little girl is worth so much more than the money.  So much more.  Becoming a mom has changed so much of my world, and I am a much stronger person for it (metaphorically and literally, I’m surprised by how much I can lift at this point 😀 ).

Of course it’s not all been a crazy blissed out happy train.  I wouldn’t trade any of it, but there, of course, have been plenty of bumps in the road.  Illnesses, being peed on more times than I can count, attempting to cloth diaper and splashing myself in the face while shaking poop off in the toilet (more than once of course…you would think you’d only make that mistake once…), the endless cycle of worrying that you’re not doing it right (or doing enough), spousal relationship implosion and rebuilding, negotiating the rocky waters of temper tantrums and learning emotional regulation, the baby fingernails to the eyeball (omg…those suckers are sharp, ow ow ow).  I could go on, but, realistically, these aren’t the things that I choose to focus on, more just a reality of what comes along with bringing a smooshy, bundle of sunshine into this world.

I choose to focus on the cuddles, and the blossoming sense of humor (oh yes, I fully support her current poop jokes as well as her knock knock punchline of banana for pretty much everything), the creativity, the play, the learning, the curiosity, the wonder, the puddle jumping, the holding slugs, the music, the giggles, the choo choo train marches through the house, the mud food, the messes, the doodles.  I could also go on and on about these 😀

It’s been quite the ride so far.  I look forward for what’s to come.

Leave a Reply

